Inspired…get ready for a long one

I’ve been inspired lately by the great Ali Edwards. She’s was recently in the midst of sharing her December Daily Album with us again. Last year, I took her idea and created a Holiday ’08 album. I love the Christmas season, but really, I love all the great things that come with the Holiday season. I felt that Thanksgiving needed to be included, because there is a lot that’s done in November that adds to my overall enthusiasm and gratefulness for the season. That’s one of the great things about Ali, she’s always encouraging people to take her ideas and turn them into something that works for them. Here are some snippets of my Holiday ’08 Album. I really want to do a Hoilday ’09 album, but who knows right now.

Someone else who is inspiring me, Apron Thrift Girl. I too am an avid thrifter. My husband coined the term Relentless Thrifter, which I think suits quite well. In the past six months or so, I’ve been toying with the idea of reselling more hard core. As it is right now, I thrift every saturday, and LOVE it. It excites me to find my “steals” and it’s cheaper than a shoe fetish (I’m not saying I don’t have a shoe fetish). One of the best things about thrifting is that I get instant gratification, and I always come across things that thrill me, even if I’m not buying them. Like old luggage. I don’t know why I like it so much, but I do. I never buy it, I just look at it. I’m not afraid to get dirty, and search for something in a pile of mess. You can’t be sheepish about estate sales, or garages full of dark corners. You just go for it and hope for the best. So, right now, I pick up things that I have a passion for, like vintage kitchenwares and sell them on Etsy. Pyrex started this fascination. I LOVE Pyrex. All of it. It’s just such handy stuff and really fun to look at.

This weekend I’ve been thinking a lot about what I want to do with my life. In order to move up in my company, I’d have to get my BA, and if I choose to do that, I’m committing to school, and if I move up, I’m also committing more of my time, because there would be a lot more overtime involved. That doesn’t seem like the best idea to me, because, realistically, I want to start a family in not too awefully long. I don’t think it’d be wise to sign up for all sorts of extra work if I’m planning kids. I want to be around them.

Ideally, I would have a stay at home job. I’d love to design stuff like Ali or Katie does, but I don’t know how to use the tools to even go there, plus there is the initial investment of the tools. So, I’m reading a book called Craft, Inc. right now. It’s about turning your creative hobby into a business. It sure does make you think. One of the things they say is to hone in on one thing at first, and just really concentrate on that. I’m having a hard time picking just one thing, because I like to do a million different crafts.

Personally, I think I’d like reselling as a home business. So, I’m just thinking more on it and surveying the possibilities, but I think it’s exciting to think about.

Leave a Reply

