Back to Reality

IMG_5626

Now that we are back from the amazing surprise birtday trip for this man, I’m excited that I can finally talk about it. I admit, that I’m slightly sick of talking about it though. So, here is the condensed version of details.

Adam is a huge Notre Dame fan, and by marriage, I’ve become as well. This year, the UW Huskies played Notre Dame @ Notre Dame in South Bend, Indiana and Adam and I had intended to go. Well, trying to sell the condo and what not, we just decided that this trip did not make financial sense for us, since we were trying to conserve funds. I realized early September, that I could buy tickets with airline miles, and I convinced his parents to buy us tickets to the game, as our combined birthday gift. Not only did they do that, but they also sprung for our hotel in Chicago for night #1. Coincidentally, the Seahawks were playing the Colts, the same weekend in Indianapolis, IN, a mere 2.5 hours away from South Bend. His brothers elected to buy us tickets to that game for our combined birthday gift, talk about total score. THEN, to make things even more awesome, some of his family members chipped in and got us a gift card to spend while there. So, all-in-all, this trip ended up costing me a lot less than originally thought, and I was able to pull it together. Everyone in Adam’s life knew about it, his boss, his friends, my family, everyone! AND amazingly enough, nobody let it slip out, and he was actually surprised. Friday morning, I woke him up at 5:15 am and said, “Get up, I’ve got a surprise planned for you, your father is picking us up in 30 minutes, and I need you to be ready. Don’t worry, work already knows you’ll be late. It wasn’t until about 15 minutes from the airport that I let him open a gift, which included the Notre Dame vs. Washington game day t-shirt and tickets, to the sound of the Notre Dame fight song. Tale about elated, he was thrilled. I didn’t bother to tell him about the Seahawks game until we were on our way to South Bend. His words, “are you serious?!”

The trip went wonderfully and I could not have asked for a better college football game. It’s one for our history book. Even the Seahawks didn’t win, we both had an amazing time, and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Some highlights from the trip:

DSCN0109DSCN0099DSCN0092_2DSCN0283DSCN0233

Leave a Reply

