Natural Cures

It all started with a gift of a water filter for our shower from my father-in-law. Along with that, Adam was given a book to read. (don’t pay attention to the fact that I swiped that from Amazon.)

Natural Cures

Randomly, last week, Adam started reading again. Shocker! I know, I almost fell over. He’s never really been the reading type. Anyway, being curious about all the things he was telling me I picked the book up myself and gave it a once over. My conclusion is that there is some good stuff in there, but it’s really about picking and choosing what can and will fit in your life style.  I’ve put together this list of my notes:

  • Skin is the largest organism and we absorb alarge portion of toxins through it
    • Good thing I have that filter on my shower head!!
    • I knew there was a reason I didn’t like drinking tap water!
    • I’m going to use sunscreen very sparingly. People in Africa don’t have high rates of skin cancer and there are positive effects of the sun being on your skin. PLUS, sunscreen is really just a shit ton of chemicals.
  • Clean food is really important! Here are things I’ve begun doing to make my eating clearner
    • Full Circle Farm, a Community Sustained Agriculture program. All organic produce delivered weekly. Seriously,  you should check it out, cause it’s amazing, and I love it.  I’ll do another post solely on them, cause I love them that much.
    • Read ingredient labels. Did you know that a shit ton of food has MSG in it again? Crazy and annoying.
    • Lots more shopping at Trader Joe’s and whole food markets. I’m going to be really sad when farmer’s markets are done for the year.
    • I’m not afraid of eggs despite my high cholesterol and their high amount of cholesterol. Do you know the difference between cage-free and free-range eggs? I’ll share since you might be too scared to ask.
      • Free Range – means they have regular access to the outdoors
      • Cage Free – just means they aren’t caged. No mention of whether they get to go outside or not.
      • Organic – though the diets fed to these chickens is organic, it in no way relates to them being Cage Free or Free Range

I’ve been thinking a lot about meat lately too. What kind of meat? I don’t ever want to be a vegetarian. I don’t think it’s all that healthy, and I think there is nothing wrong with the natural life cycle of all animals, and the food chain. While I don’t dislike anyone who is vegetarian, it’s just not for me.  I’m fine with you as long as you don’t try to convert me. I am Catholic, but I’m not shoving it down anyone’s throat. So, organic meat is supposed to be the very best for you. However, it’s a billion dollars a pound, and I can’t really afford that, and Costco doesn’t sell organic meat. Therefore, I’ll need a substantial raise to be able to afford to eat cleaner. Do you think my boss will see that same logic?

THUD!

That’s me, getting off my soap box.

Leave a Reply

